Wildflower Festival

Wildflower Festival

Wildflower Festival

Wildflower Festival 2017

Al Johnson Performing Songwriter Contest

The award-winning Al Johnson Performing Songwriter Contest encourages the growth of the art of independent performing singer-songwriters. The genres include Acoustic, Americana, , Blues, Celtic, Country, Folk and Pop. Some of our past finalists include Ruthie Foster, Beth Wood, Karen Mal, Grace Pettis, Dave Carter, Louise Mosrie, Betty Soo, Matt Harlan, Butch Claude Morgan, RJ Cowdery, and Tom Faulkner. Finalists competed on Saturday, May 20  on the UnitedHealthcare Singer Songwriter Stage in the Eisemann Center, and the following winners were announced: 

2017 Performing Songwriting Contest Winners

Mike Laureanno – Rhode Island
Emily Scott Robinson – Texas
Tom Meny – Texas

Michael Terry Peoples Choice Award

Heather Mae – Washington, D.C.

Additional 2017 Finalists
Hannah Bethel – Tenessee
Kevin Chambers – Tennessee
Nathan Evans Fox – Texas
Emmeline Miles – Texas
Marilyn Rucker – Texas
Mike P. Ryan – Virginia


2018 contest information will be available in December 2018.

Al Johnson Performing Songwriter Contest submissions are supported by Sonicbids. To view a history of Singer Songwriter Contest winners click here

Logo for Sonic Bids





Logo for Methodist Richardson
logo image for City of Richardson
Logo for Bud Light
Logo for State Farm